Confessions of a Ballerunner

Essays on Sports, Arts, Culture, and Life

The Artist: Portrait or Self-portrait

Experimenting a bit with pen & ink… Oscars were on, so was inspired to interpret the Globe & Mail photo of Bérénice Bejo’s character, Peppi Miller, in The Artist. I find my rendering makes the actress look a little older than she is, but still retains the elegance of the character & fashion of the 1920s – one of my favourite fashion eras… I’m not sure if others have encountered this, but I’ve often been told that the female portrait drawings I sketch frequently bear an uncanny resemblance to me. I suspect a similar observation would be made in this case. Yet, in each instance, I can say that I had no a priori intention of creating a self-portrait. I am sure, however, that there are countless interesting psychologically-based hypotheses in circulation for why such personal imprinting might occur. Suffice it to say that this does not reflect an inner, repressed longing to be a screen siren! One intro acting class was enough to convince me I was not cut out to be a stage actor…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

