Confessions of a Ballerunner

Essays on Sports, Arts, Culture, and Life

More cartoons from the artistic time capsule…

Here are a few more oldie but goodie health-related cartoons from the artistic vault… (I was doing everything from sketch to colorization at this point since I had learned how to do some basic stuff in PhotoShop and Illustrator.)

The 2004 cartoon below tries to illustrate the frustrations from a patient’s perspective of getting to a clinic appointment in a big city. Often, the buses are packed with people, and if the weather’s bad, these buses can be late arriving and be even more crowded than normal. Sometimes, they don’t even show up at all. Not a pleasant experience when someone is elderly or unwell, trying to get in to see their doctor or health professional…

These next two cartoons (from 2006) showcase my attempts at creating some birthday cards that our clinical team could potentially give out to patients in our clinic. I think I only ended up using the one of the artist at her easel (kind of a self-portrait, I’m told) once to wish a friend Happy Birthday, however… The other ‘group’ illustration (immediately below) was meant to be a ‘from all of us’ type of birthday card with the whole clinical team represented — and some patients mixed in — wishing one a Happy Birthday… This ended up on the cutting room floor, too. (I had lots of ideas back in those days for patient education tools and other fun things to give out, but understandably not all ideas fly, especially when there are significant dollars or time involved. Oh well, it was still fun pursuing these different ideas.)

This last cartoon (from 2002) was inspired by a clinical trial in diabetes in which I was a study coordinator. During the trial, patients had to get periodic ECGs done to monitor their heart health and screen for any rhythm disturbances. I can remember having to stick electrodes (which were really sticky!) on some pretty hairy, obese men. Sometimes, the electrodes just wouldn’t stick at all, though, so I was faced with having to shave some of their precious chest hair off. I felt so bad having to do this. (I don’t think they minded, however.) I was also a newbie coordinator, so I wasn’t exactly practised in the fine art of esthetics & barbering…

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

